Some Words About Food

write about a pleasurable food experience.

The story of a pleasurable food experience is something that I am yet to find to use as my defining anecdote. For the time in which that I have been living, I cannot say that food has been treated as much more than a necessity for survival. With that said, I do occasionally dip into my copy of Jamie Oliver’s 30 Minute Meals, more to look at the pictures than to actually take any of the recipes. I have been known to put my creative efforts into making a mess in the kitchen and producing a cake or two, or maybe a batch of cookies that last little over half an hour as I sit in potato fashion in front of the television watching endless re-runs of Friends.

But can I really be blamed? Fine dining isn’t really on the top of many teenagers’ lists, the exception being the kids that find themselves on Junior Masterchef, constructing elaborate savoury soufflés. Those of my age feel unwelcome in restaurants, what with the undeveloped knowledge of social etiquette and general fiscal irresponsibility that leads to having to tip the waiter in two pence pieces.

So if restaurant experiences are off the table, I suppose that leaves Sunday Roast with the grandparents and the all too frequent excursion to MacDonalds (who give themselves the title of ‘restaurant’, but I do beg to differ). Or does it? I suppose that an eating experience is not all about the food. If dig into my memory banks a little further, I consider the people I’ve met, and the situations I have witnessed, whilst posing with a snatch of provender. I once watched a fight at Hinchley Wood station, whilst standing on my balcony, absent-mindedly eating a pot noodle.

i sent my mother it to read. her reply was this.
Hope you don’t really thing your food experience has been so dull thus far
in your life… or is it another blow to the parenting efforts that do in
fact go on almost continuously, and have occupied much of the last 15 years
of my life

oh shi.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. weggieboy
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 09:51:01

    Rosie ~ This is my first time on your blog, and I am not diappointed! Your commentary is dead on, as I might expect from “knowing” you through DailyBooth, and the humor (humour) is so pinpoint accurate as to make me bluysh for any assumptions I have about 15 year olds! Brilliant! (Afre you sure you are only 15??!)

    Reply

  2. weggieboy
    Mar 21, 2011 @ 09:54:04

    p.s. You know me as phainopepla95 on DailyBooth, though I am http://weggieboy.wordpress.com/ on Word Press.

    Reply

    • Rosie
      Mar 21, 2011 @ 10:01:02

      Quite sure I am only 15. Haha ^_^
      It’s my favourite writing style, and when the time emerges I’ll stop just drafting these and actually write up.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Twitter Me Do

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

